Recipe 1: Chicken and Vegetable Stir-Fry

Since I don’t like to run before I walk, I started off the challenge with a simple recipe: chicken and mixed vegetables, stir-fried together. Unfortunately, getting the ingredients wasn’t as simple. I asked my husband to run downstairs to the mini farmer’s market that we have just around the corner from our apartment building. I decided to hold off on cooking as long as possible since that should only have taken about 10 minutes. A few minutes later, I get a call. “No one is here.” Crap. It’s National Day (think Chinese 4th of July) and we both completely forgot. “How about down the side street?” I asked, since there are usually several vendors there. “Meiyou (don’t have). Ghost town all the way.” Thankfully, awesome husband that he is, Nick offered to walk to the local grocery store (about 25-30 minutes round-trip, plus a wait in holiday lines). About an hour later, we were in business. Thankfully I had leftover date bread sitting around…

Like I said, both the preparation and execution (not to mention the eating part) were fairly simple…

I sliced a few breasts of chicken into small strips, then browned them…

Die, salmonella, die!

I diced one cup each of four of my vegetables of choice (broccoli, shallots, carrots, and green bell peppers), and fried them until tender…

It’s green, so it must be healthy, right?

Finally, I added everything together, plus vegetable stock, and simmered for about 15 minutes. A final dash of salt, and it was done!

Perfecto!

The Recipe! (4 Servings)

What you need:

  • 2 boneless and skinless chicken breasts, cubed or stripped
  • 1 cup each of 4-5 vegetables, diced
  • 2 cups vegetable stock
  • 2 tablespoons corn flour
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • Olive oil (minimal, for light frying)
  • Salt (to taste)

What to do:

  1. After making the vegetable stock, add in corn flour and soy sauce; set aside
  2. Brown the chicken in the oil; set aside
  3. Fry the vegetables in oil with the garlic until tender
  4. Add the chicken, vegetable stock, and salt
  5. Lower heat to a simmer
  6. Let simmer for 15-20 minutes, stirring repeatedly
  7. Serve over brown rice
  8. Enjoy!

I’m so excited that I’ve begun this 9-month adventure of deliciousity. Only 282 recipes to go!

So excited to eat my first meal!

Chicken and Vegetable Stir-Fry

Difficulty:

Tastiness:

Leave a Reply

