Recipe 4: Sweet Almond Pudding with Dates

Slice those dates!

As with all of my other recipes, I made some adjustments with last night’s pudding recipe. I felt it was lacking in both of its main ingredients: almonds and dates. I especially wanted to use more dates because I have been given no less than three pounds of them in the last month by various Chinese people. I guess they are good luck? Anyway, they also go bad really fast, and I hate fruit flies, so they needed to get used. I was really sad to not have my New Zealand milk for this, but I found some halal milk that tasted pretty close. I’m hoping that since it’s halal, it’s a little better than regular Chinese milk. That and the fact that it was in the refrigerated section. I also decided that cinnamon would be a great addition. And I learned while making this that a coffee grinder is great for powdering almonds!

As I mentioned in the first post related to this meal, the convenient thing about this pudding is that you can make it and store it until it’s ready to be served. It was my first hot pudding, and I really enjoyed it. However, if I were to make it again, I would use apples since they are a bit sweeter.

The Recipe! (4 Servings)

You must stir constantly to keep the lumps at bay.

What you need:

  • 1/3 cup sweet rice flour (the same used for tang yuan)
  • ¼ cup sugar (or slightly less if using Splenda)
  • ½ cup cold water
  • 2-2 ½ cups cold milk
  • 4 tablespoons almond powder
  • 1 cup sliced, pitted dates (Chinese jujubes)

What to do:

  1. Mix together rice flour and almond powder
  2. Add water and mix until the mixture becomes a paste
  3. Add ½ cup milk and mix
  4. Pour mixture into a saucepan and add remaining milk
  5. Cook on low heat, stirring constantly (very important!) to avoid lumps and burning
  6. Cook until just boiling; mixture should be the consistency of a thin gravy
  7. Store pudding until ready to serve
  8. Cook pudding on low heat until warm, about 2 minutes
  9. Add dates and sugar
  10. Simmer, stirring constantly, until mixture thickens a little
  11. Serve topped with whole almonds
  12. Enjoy!

So warm, gooey, and yummy

Sweet Almond Pudding with Dates

Difficulty:

Tastiness:

Leave a Reply

