Recipe 9: Beef with Peppers

As the name implies, this was another simple dish: stir-fried beef pieces with peppers (and onions). For this meal I wanted to try the pre-cut beef that I found in the frozen section of my supermarket. I didn’t have bell peppers, nor did my produce person, so I used lajiao (hot chili peppers) instead. I’m so glad that I did! The spiciness of the peppers off-set the semi-sweet taste of the meat. I only bought two, but four would’ve been more sufficient. I was also out of five-spice powder, so I used some Indian garam masala seasoning (Editor’s Note: the garam masala was from America, but could easily be made with Chinese ingredients, and is almost the same as five-spice, minus that pesky star anise). P.S. The leftovers were an awesome filling for a breakfast omelet!

Onto the cooking!

First, I cooked the beef in the wok with some olive and peanut oil…

Mmm bag of meat

Then I added chopped onions…

Tears make it taste better.

Then the sauce…

Mmm juicy…

Once the meat was browned, I added the peppers…

Christmas beef!

Then cooked until the peppers were crispy…

As I like to keep the recipes as healthy as possible, I served this over brown rice.

The Recipe! (About 5 Servings)

What you need:

Sauce

  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 2 tablespoons of soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon of sesame oil
  • 1 teaspoon of corn flour
  • 1 teaspoon chicken bullion
  • 1 pinch of salt

Et Al

  • 1 pound beef, stripped or cubed
  • 4 chili peppers (2 red, 2 green)*, stripped
  • 1 medium white onion, chopped
  • 1/4 teaspoon five-spice powder
  • Peanut and/or olive oil

What to do:

  1. Stir-fry meat and five-spice powder in oil until meat is almost browned.
  2. Add the onions; stir-fry for two minutes.
  3. Add the sauce and peppers; fry until peppers are a little crispy.
  4. Serve over brown rice.
  5. Enjoy!

Served on the fanciest China.

Beef with Peppers

Difficulty:

Especially with bagged meat!

Tastiness:

Best when eaten fresh, but reheats just fine!

One thought on “Recipe 9: Beef with Peppers

Leave a Reply

