Recipe 12: Deep-fried Wontons with Curry Tofu (Tofu Triangles)

In an effort to make something for my vegetarian readers, I decided to make this entire meal (including this dish, my green beans, and cucumbers) without using meat. This is a rarity for me because I love meat. I certainly feel for the mistreatment of animals, and thus limit the types of meat that I eat where I can, and buy halal when I can, but I am a carnivore (editor’s note: I know that I’m an omnivore, but that doesn’t sum up enough my love of meat). I get excited when I see a dark red steak (meat or fish), I love the taste, and it’s the best way for tiny ol’ me to get protein. Until America does vegetarian as well as India, I will continue to eat more meat than veggies.

But this isn’t about me; this is about you, my vegetarian friends. And I have to tell you, this was probably the most excited I’d ever been to eat vegetarian food.

This was also my first time working with tofu and mushrooms, both of which kind of freak me out because of their consistency. Surprisingly, this was my favorite dish of the night and one of my favorite dishes I’ve made thus far.

These are called tofu triangles because of their shape, but I think a more accurate name might be deep-fried curry tofu and mushroom wontons. Longer name, but gives you more of an idea of the contents. They took a little time to make because of all the chopping, but the overall process was pretty simple…

Mash up the tofu with a fork, and chop the mushrooms into really small pieces…

As small as you can.

Fry up some onions in the oil. Add the rest of the ingredients, including the curry mix. Stir-fry for about 10-15 minutes until desired doneness…

(I think I was having too much fun stir-frying to take a photo. Yeah, that’s what it was.)

Put mixture onto wonton skins, right in the center…

About a tablespoon’s worth.

Fold wontons at the corners, using a little water around the edges to seal them. This gives them their triangle shape…

And in the corner you’ll see what I like to call the “Persian Flaw” of the group.

Deep-fry until golden brown in peanut and/or corn oil (I used a mixture of both)…

That sizzling sound means it’s delicious.

Serve with a soy sauce/chili/vinegar mixture just like the one used for dumplings.

I can’t wait to have that inside me.

The Recipe! (Makes about 30 Wontons)

What you need:

Curry

  • 1 tablespoon curry powder
  • 1 teaspoon brandy
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 teaspoon chicken bullion

Et al

  • 1/2 pound firm tofu
  • 30 wonton skins
  • Oil for deep-frying
  • 1.5-2 cups of mushrooms, minced
  • 1 tsp of grated ginger
  • 1 cup of light soy sauce
  • 1/3 of a medium white onion, chopped (about a 1/2 cup)
  • 2 tablespoons of water
  • 1 teaspoon of cornflour
  • 1 tablespoon of sesame oil

What to do:

  1. Brown the ginger in a little oil.
  2. Add the onions and curry; stir-fry for a few minutes.
  3. Add everything but water, cornflour, and sesame oil; bring to a boil, then turn heat to low.
  4. Add cornflour, sesame oil, and water; stir for a minute, then let cool.
  5. Place about a tablespoon of mixture in the center of each wonton skin.
  6. Using a little water around the edges, fold at the points, creating a triangle shape.
  7. Deep-fry in enough oil to fully submerge wontons.
  8. Fry until golden brown.
  9. Serve with a soy sauce/chili/vinegar mixture just like the one used for dumplings.
  10. Enjoy!

Deep-fried goodness.

Deep-friend Wontons with Curry Tofu (炸豆腐馄饨 )

Difficulty: 

Only because there are lots of steps.

Tastiness: 

But so worth it!

6 thoughts on “Recipe 12: Deep-fried Wontons with Curry Tofu (Tofu Triangles)

  1. Pingback: Page not found | The 好吃 Challenge

  2. Pingback: The 好吃 Challenge

  3. Pingback: Recipe 15: Wonton Skins (Huntun Wrappers) | The 好吃 Challenge

  4. Pingback: Recipe 29: Sweet and Sour Sauce | The 好吃 Challenge

Leave a Reply

