Recipe 14: Lazi Jiding (Fried Chicken with Chilies)

One of my weekly (or twice-weekly) go-to meals is lazi jiding (辣子鸡丁), which is basically chicken cubes and chilies. I’d love to be able to order anything off the menu in China, but I love this so much I haven’t bothered to learn much else when it comes to personal (not dishes) meals. I decided to make it this week, because it’s a recipe I definitely want to take home.

I’ve always wondered why you rarely see soy sauce on the restaurant table here. You only see chili sauce, MSG, and brown vinegar. Since I’ve started this blog, I’ve noticed that nearly any recipe with a sauce and/or marinade has soy sauce as an ingredient. It’s like the renaissance sauce–it works with everything.

Anyway, to the meal! It was pretty easy, just chopping and marinating. The only rough part was when I got something in my eye while cutting the chilies. I tried using my knuckle, but I still got a little sting in my eye. I wouldn’t recommend it. But I’m fine, and you will be, too, once you make this.

Marinate the chicken for at least half an hour…

IMG_9133

Soaking up the garlicky goodness

Meanwhile, dice your peppers (make sure to get rid of most of the seeds!)

IMG_9134

Beautiful but painful. Not a bad idea to wear gloves while working with these.

Fry the chicken until just browned…

IMG_9135

Sizzzzzzle

Remove the chicken and fry the peppers until crispy; add the sauce…

IMG_9136

Also, keep your eyes and nose away from the smoke

Mix in the chicken and stir-fry for a few minutes…

IMG_9137

Reminds me of my beloved Mexican food.

Serve with rice and enjoy!

That's goin in my mouth.

That’s goin in my mouth.

The Recipe! (Makes 3-4 Servings)

What you need:

Marinade

  • 3 tablespoons light soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon brandy
  • 1 tablespoon plus 2 teaspoons vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon sesame oil

Sauce

  • 2 tablespoons lajiao (chili sauce)
  • 1 tablespoon light soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable stock
  • 1 teaspoon corn flour

Et al

  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cubed
  • 1-2 large green peppers, de-seeded and diced
  • 1/2 cup corn flour
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 1/2-1 cup Peanut oil
  • 8 dried chilies, de-seeded and chopped
  • 4-5 cloves garlic

What to do:

  1. Marinate the chicken for at least half an hour.
  2. Toss the chicken in a mixture of salt and corn flour to lightly cover.
  3. Fry the chicken in peanut oil until just browned.
  4. Remove the chicken and drain on a paper towel.
  5. Add a little more oil and fry the peppers together until crispy.
  6. Add the sauce and stir-fry until it thickens.
  7. Add the chicken and toss for a minute.
  8. Serve with rice and enjoy!
IMG_9138

Best served with rice to offset the spice.

Lazi Jiding (辣子鸡丁)

Difficulty:

Only because of all the prep.

Only because of all the prep.

Tastiness:

The longer you marinade, the tastier it gets!

The longer you marinade, the tastier it gets!

Leave a Reply

