Recipe 17: Steamed Honey Pears

I have eaten a total of about 3 pears in my entire life. I don’t know why. But my city, Lanzhou, has some incredible produce. Every time I walk past a fruit cart I immediately want to eat everything. Unfortunately, night soil (read: poo) prevents me from doing so.

Anyway, I got excited when I found the recipe for honey pears, except the part about dates. It’s not that I dislike Chinese dates, only that I’d had my fill (we were given about 3 pounds from various people). So I decided to nix the dates and just add honey. Now it seems as if these could be steamed or boiled in water or juice. I decided to play it safe just in case they were terrible, so I opted for steamed. There are basically 4 steps:

Make sure the top is flat!

Make sure the top is flat!

Cut off the tops. Spoon out a small space. 

Mmm drizzle that...

Mmm drizzle that…

Fill that space with honey.

Put those in that rice cooker!

Put those in that rice cooker!

Return tops and steam for 30 min.

The Recipe (one pear per person)

What you need:

  • Asian Pears
  • Honey
  • Chinese dates (optional)
  • Rice cooker with steam tray

What to do:

  1. Cut off the tops of the pears
  2. Fill with honey (and dates, if you want)
  3. Return tops and steam for 30 minutes.
  4. Enjoy with a spoon!

Tip: Don’t eat the skin if you’re in China!

So golden and beautiful

So golden and beautiful

Steamed Pears (蒸梨)

Difficulty:

I'm not sure how this could be any easier!

I’m not sure how this could be any easier!

Tastiness:

I bet with apples inside it would be even better!

I bet with apples inside it would be even better!

Leave a Reply

