Recipe 28: Veggie Fried Jiaozi

I’ve already made meat jiaozi, so I thought I would do something for my vegetarian readers. I also really like the fried jiaozi from my local food street, so I wanted to make my own. This isn’t exactly the same as other vegetarian jiaozi, but it’s similar. I just added the tofu and chili to make it more hearty and protein-y.

The Recipe (10 jiaozi per person)

Difficulty: Not too difficult, but takes time to dice everything up real tiny-like

Tastiness: Really Good

What you need:

  • 1 large scallion, diced
  • 1 tomato, diced
  • 5 cloves garlic, diced
  • 1/3 head of green cabbage, diced
  • 1 green chili, diced
  • ¼ lb tofu, diced
  • Soy sauce, salt, pepper (to taste)
  • Jiaozi wrappers
  • Peanut or canola oil
  • Lajiao and dark vinegar for dipping
  1. Mix everything together.
  2. Put filling into jiaozi wrappers and seal.
  3. Boil until dumplings float.
  4. Stir-fry, alternating lid on and off every few minutes, until crispy.
  5. Enjoy!
Crispy=best.

Crispy=best.

One thought on “Recipe 28: Veggie Fried Jiaozi

  1. Pingback: Recipe 29: Sweet and Sour Sauce | The 好吃 Challenge

Leave a Reply

