Recipe 29: Sweet and Sour Sauce

I was a bit reluctant to make this since I usually don’t like the sauce, but I know others do; plus it’s essential, so I did it. I was also worried at this point because one of the books I was using had “catsup” as an ingredient, which just seems wrong. I found a simple recipe, but I had to keep making adjustments to balance the two main flavors of brandy (sweet) and vinegar (sour). I didn’t have cooking sherry, so I substituted with brandy, which is much sweeter. Anyway, for me, thinner is better when it comes to this sauce. If it’s too thick, it takes over the dish. 

Use this as a dipping sauce for dumplings, wontons, or to make sweet and sour [meat of choice].

The Recipe (about 1 cup)

Difficulty: Super easy

Tastiness: Really tasty (if you like this kind of sauce)

What you need:

  • 2/3 cup rice vinegar
  • 8 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons ketchup
  • 2 teaspoons soy sauce
  • 4 teaspoons cornstarch mixed with 8 teaspoons water (or enough to make sauce the desired thickness)
  • Cooking sherry (to taste)

What to do:

Mix everything but cornstarch together in a small pot and bring to a boil. Add cornstarch mixed with water to thicken to your desired thickness. You made need to add more or less of the vinegar and sherry to find the right balance of sweet and sour.

Sorry about the blurriness, but it's the only pic I took :\

Sorry about the blurriness, but it’s the only pic I took :\

Leave a Reply

